# **How Does Work The Indian Premier League Work?**

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is an annual T20 cricket tournament that was established in 2008. It was founded by then BCCI vice-president Lalit Modi as a result due to the rising popularity of T20 cricket in India. T20 cricket format across India when the national team took home in 2007 the World T20.

### What time does it begin?

The IPL is held during March, April and May each year. It runs for about seven weeks. Because of the Coronavirus outbreak this year's edition will occur from September until November in 2020. It will be held in United Arab Emirates.

### How many teams are part of the IPL?

The IPL is a competition based on franchises consisting of eight teams one representing an Indian city. When the competition was first founded, an auction was carried out to determine the cities that the teams would operate from and the owners of each team. The eight teams taking part in the IPL in 2008 IPL were located at Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Mohali and Mumbai. Whenever you wish special info about ipl winners, click over here.

## **Exactly what format is it?**

Most of the competition follows a basic plan: each of the eight teams play one another both on and off the field, with two points earned on a winning team while one point is awarded for not having a result or a tie, and none for a loss. At the end of that double round-robin process The bottom four teams in their group are eliminated. the top four teams are promoted to the playoffs.

This is where things can get somewhat complicated.

The teams who finished first to second place in league tables will face each other in Qualifier One. The winner of that match will be able to advance to the final, but the loser is not yet eliminated.

#### Who is the most expensive player?

A. Pat Cummins became the most expensive foreign player of ever in the auction in 2020. He cost Kolkata Knight Riders 15.5 crores (\$2.1m).

Virat Kohli may be the most expensive player all-round, even though the renewal in 2018 of his deal with Royal Challengers Bangalore was worth 17 Crores (\$2.4m).

#### Who were the previous winners?

Mumbai Indians Mumbai Indians became the first team to win the IPL <u>T20 cricket</u> for the fourth time, beating Mumbai Indians in the IPL final by beating the Chennai Super Kings in the final of the tournament in 2019.

Chennai have won the title on three occasions themselves In 2010, 2011 and 2018, respectively. None of the other teams has successfully defended the trophy.

The Rajasthan Royals won the first edition of the IPL in 2008, however they haven't been able to lift the trophy since.

The now defunct Deccan Chargers claimed the title in 2009, with the Sunrisers which took over from those Chargers the Hyderabad franchise in 2012 successful in the year. In 2016, the Kolkata Knight Riders, meanwhile they were crowned champions between 2012 and in 2014.