The UN Secretary-General's 2019 Climate Summit and raising ambition by 2020: *A Declaration for Ambition*

- 1. We commit to exploring the possibilities for stepping up our own ambition, in light of the forthcoming IPCC Special Report on 1.5°C, and in this context emphasize the importance of the Talanoa Dialogue at COP24.
- 2. We also underscore the importance of adopting strong implementation guidelines at COP24 in order to unlock the full potential of the Paris Agreement.
- 3. We commend the UN Secretary-General for his climate leadership, especially his initiative to convene a Climate Summit in September 2019. This will be one of the biggest gatherings of world leaders on the climate challenge since COP21 in Paris in 2015, and is the biggest political opportunity to raise global ambition by 2020 in order to keep it possible to stay within the temperature limits of the Paris Agreement.
- 4. We support the Secretary-General in his objectives for the Climate Summit, including encouraging countries to:
 - elaborate how they will step-up their short-term ambition, and possibilities for enhanced NDCs by 2020;
 - set long-term low emission development strategies, including pathways consistent with the Paris Agreement to reach net zero emissions; and
 - mobilize additional support and investment to assist with implementation and the raising of ambition in line with the goals of the Paris Agreement.
- 5. We commit to supporting the Secretary-General in his efforts to urgently galvanize political momentum in the lead-up to September 2019.
- 6. We call on other countries to join us in expressing their desire to lead from the front.

SIGNED

President Hilda C. Heine (Marshall Islands), Prime Minister Frank Bainimarama (Fiji), Minister Raby Sergio Bergman (Argentina), Minister Catherine McKenna (Canada), Minister Marcela Cubillos (Chile), Minister Luis Gilberto Murillo (Colombia), Minister Carlos Manuel Rodríguez Echandi (Costa Rica), Minister Lars Chr. Lilleholt (Denmark), Minister Gemedo Dalle Tussie (Ethiopia), Minister Kimmo Tiilikainen (Finland), Minister Nicolas Hulot (France), Minister Svenja Schulze (Germany), Minister Carole Dieschbourg (Luxembourg), Minister Abdullahi Majeed (Maldives), Minister David Paul (Marshall Islands), Minister Rafael Pacchiano (Mexico), Minister Gilles Tonelli (Monaco), Minister Eric Wiebes (The Kingdom of the Netherlands), Minister James Shaw (New Zealand), Minister Ola Elvstuen (Norway), Minister Joao Pedro Matos Fernandes (Portugal), Minister Vincent Biruta (Rwanda), Minister Gale T.C. Rigobert (Saint Lucia), Minister Teresa Ribera (Spain), Minister Isabella Lövin (Sweden), Minister Claire Perry (United Kingdom) and Minister Ralph Regenvanu (Vanuatu).